Some people expect a fast development of online and distance learning in upcoming years. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays, distance education is developing very quickly and replaces the usual learning. It is certainly true that it has many benefits such as a lot of free time and the opportunity to get a foreign education; hence, some people believe that people should be educated only at school or university. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this trend. There are several reasons why distance learning is better. To begin with, distance learning provides people with the great opportunity not to waste their time. As a result, people can spend more time with their family and develop their different skills. Moreover, people can study in another country without leaving their own and get a diploma from any foreign university. Thus, distance learning gives you a chance to choose education and get a certificate of any field that you want. However, there are some obvious disadvantages to educating at home. The main one is that people do not develop their social skills due to the lack of group communication. As a result, people cannot compete with each other and their learning outcomes will be worse. Additionally, people do not have face-to-face communication with the teacher. On balance, it is a big loss in the learning process for a student because the teacher cannot pass on the experience. In conclusion, the merits of distance learning are self-development and the opportunity to spend more time at home, while the drawbacks are the lack of live communication and less effective education.