AS WELL AS MAKING MONEY, BUSINESSES HAVE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITIES. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Many people agree with the notion that, large business house must have certain social responsibilities which they should fulfil and the law of the land compels such business owners to discharge their duties under the Corporate Social Responsibilities Act. I agree with the masses, and this essay would discuss the various means by which a large corporation can discharge its social responsibilities. Large corporations, especially the manufacturing businesses, require land to set up their manufacturing units, thus depriving the locals of their livelihood, dependent on those lands. As a result, it is the social and moral responsibility of the business owners to provide them with an alternate source of earning. For example, while setting up their plant in Gujarat, the TATA's provided vocational training to the locals so that they are well trained and can work in the plant as workers or start their own workshops. In addition, since such plants are located in rural areas, beyond city limits, where the traffic management is weak and since the business house would be using the roads to transport their raw and finished products, there is a high probability of mishaps. In order to avoid such accidents and loss of life, corporations must invest in developing the road infrastructure. As per the Road Transportation Authority of India, 70% of accidents in rural areas are due to the lack of good roads and proper traffic management of heavy vehicles. In conclusion, I believe that businesses, apart from making money, have certain social responsibilities towards the local habitants, which they must fulfil.