Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays, many people prefer remote areas like the Antarctica or Sahara desert as holiday destinations. Even though visits provide a sense of unique experience, it is not without serious drawbacks. The essay will focus on both the pros and cons of trips to remote areas. To start with, compared to that of earlier years remote places is becoming new tourist hotspots and one of the main reasons is the easy accessibility to travellers due to the advancement in the tourism industry. When we look at the advantages, first and foremost, It's due to the fact that not many people have visited those areas beforehand, thus providing a great feeling of fulfilling a unique achievement in life. Additionally, places like the Sahara, Antartica or the Himalayas are on top of the list of holiday destinations because of the vast flora and fauna that exist in such lands. They are great locations to escape from the busy hustle life that our current generation is living through. On the other hand, travelling to risky tourist areas do pose some serious problems. One reason is the location of such trips. Travelling to remote areas means, there exists a possibility that such areas lack basic infrastructures for emergency situations. For example, in case of a health related emergency u might not get adequate help due to absence of hospitals or ambulatory services in that locality. Another drawback is the travel expenses. When we compare the cost of trips to the usual location with that of exotic localities we can see that local trips cost to a lesser extent than that of remote places. Hence, we need to have a higher bank balance in order to afford such holidays even though the locations are very attractive. In conclusion, tourism industry in exotic locations has bloomed in the recent years due to the significantly higher number of visits made by both native and foreign tourists. But we must always consider both positive and negative aspects of the trips before finalizing holiday destinations.