There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Nowadays, it is seen that people are more enthusiastic about furthering their studies, rather than quitting after high school. Although this trend can lead to a society with more knowledgeable citizens, it also has some negative points that will threaten the economy. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend. On the one hand, rising in numbers of university enrollments the act of enrolling enrolments enrolment has significant benefits for people and societies. Students of higher education will have more opportunities to achieve a decent job with a higher salary. Additionally, these people will turn into citizens who can positively contribute to society due to their skills and knowledge. For instance, in countries with a higher number of physicians, health care can be presented to inhabitants with better quality. On the other hand, higher numbers of students can lead to significant issues. First, there will be a scarcity of workers who serve society at basic levels. For instance, the number of handymen, bakers, and bus drivers drops, as most people wish to study to work at higher levels. Secondly, by the attendance of more students at universities, there would be an over-population in these institutes, which consequently results in poorer quality of education. Last but not least, the fact that people want to be educated for the purpose of achieving prosperity will widen the economic gap in the country. In other words, the middle class of society will be eliminated, and there will be greater diversity among rich and poor people. To conclude, even though the higher number of people with better education will have positive influences on individuals and societies, negative points, especially in economic aspects, impact nations too. In order to have a developed country, the balance between all levels of educations should be maintained.