Some people think that managers alone should make decisions in the company, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is sometimes said that only executives should be responsible for making decisions for a company, other people believe that staff ought to participate in the process. In my opinion, employees’ involvement is a necessity as they have the needed experience and some decisions may be life-changing for them. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why workers’ participation is necessary. Firstly, most of them have hands-on industry experience, which is a vital consideration for the success of any deal. In other words, they know better than their supervisors about whether a deal or a project is profitable and worth the effort and the hard work or no. A second reason is that some decisions can affect workers directly and may put their livelihood at stake. To illustrate, a firm may decide to downsize or restructure its operation without consulting its employees who are likely to find a solution and thus deter the company from laying off many workers. On the other hand, others argue that only companies’ managers should make its decisions. This is because executives are in direct contact with shareholders and know better than lower-level workers about a company’s vision and mission, which is the thing making them answerable to the owners for the business’s profile, reputation, and financial health. A second consideration, according to them, managers are equipped with years of experience. For that reason, they are at a higher-managerial level and receive folds of the pay of lower-level workers. In conclusion, although it might be argued that executives should solely decide for a company, In my view, workers should take part as they are more technically-experienced and can play a role to protect their livelihood.