Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Discuss both views

The digital revolution has provided us with uncountable knowledge and entertainment. The social media, however, has also created various controversial issues, one of them is sharing personal data publicly. This essay is to discuss both the benefits it brings about and the problems that need solving caused by it. On the positive side, there is no shadow of doubt that the internet has given us various merits. It has connected people in an unimaginable way. It helps people join lost siblings, save lives, call for help from the online community. It also helps people entertain with plentiful kinds of games or programs. One person with a mini-laptop with a click can acquire permanently accessible updated information or contact an acquaintance who is hundreds of kilometres far away from him. Hence, the importance of social networks is undeniable. On the negative side, the darkest drawback of it is caused is cyber bullying. To take a more direct approach, cyber bullying, which is also known as net violence or online harassment is one of the darkest issues caused by the digital revolution. Millions of people, often anonymously can stab one person with their words, which may lead to suicidal ideations. A paragon can embody that is: a boy named Tom whose private photos while being intimate with another was leaked committed suicide after being humiliated by the online community. What’s more, there are also many other social evils made online such as hacking, private information trading, online black marketing, etc. Therefore, the Internet has definitely given birth to many demerits. In conclusion, albeit effective, social media has led to many devastating consequences. Nevertheless, I believe that every device has both positive and negative impacts. Hence, the best way is to be responsible and cautious when using these dangerous platforms.