Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is generally believed that travelling and working abroad are the only purposes of acquiring a foreign language. From my perspective, I ensure that there are several vantage points which make learning new languages is important in our life. On the one hand, a majority of people are studying foreign languages to travel or work in other countries. Apparently, in recent decades, workers tend to be recruited by international corporations which gives them opportunities to work in foreign countries. Therefore, they can accumulate experiences and knowledge from their foreign colleagues in an international and professional environment, then employees may attain an empirical vision and have pragmatic skills to develop their own careers. In addition, if people are not able to work in foreign countries, travelling is an easier way to explore new regions and cultures. It is also a helpful occasion for voyagers to expand their knowledge and attempt new interesting experiences. However, staying short-term or long-term in a foreign country all require foreigners the faculty to use these countries’ language proficiently in order to acclimatize their lifestyle. On the other hand, owing to the proliferation of society, the acquisition of new languages is utterly needed. Firstly, there are many documents, researches are written in common languages such as English, Chinese, and Spanish. If people want to reach new information from these sources, they will have to use the written languages fluently in order to comprehend it profoundly. Secondly, languages are the powerful facilitators to connect people globally. For instance, if people learn new languages, they can watch exotic movies or read foreign books, then citizens of different nations are able to discuss about these movies or books and have conversations throughout the world. Many new relationships, friendships, and communal activities will probably emerge for people to integrate global and unitedly advance the world’s development. In conclusion, I believe that everyone should learn foreign languages due to several advantages which languages have brought to our life.