It is often said it is not necessary to have a tertiary education to become a successful businessman. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Success in the business world could be attributed to several factors like good communication skills, perseverance, university degree to name a few. Some people think that a university degree is not necessary to achieve success as a businessman. I disagree with this statement and I am going to elaborate on the important aspects of tertiary education, contributing to the success of a businessman. The greatest advantage of having a tertiary education is that it helps an individual develop a variety of skills required in the business environment. People can learn skills like resource management, interpretation of financial data, presentation skills, Leadership, and a lot more. They develop these skills by application of theoretical knowledge and guidance from skilled professors. All these skills help a businessman take a myriad of decisions based on logic, effectively and efficiently. Moreover, tertiary schooling also provides a social platform through which one can meet a group of people and learn from them. It allows a person to meet aspiring businessmen and enables them to look at a situation from different perspectives. One also makes lots of connections that can aid them in the business world. All this helps a businessman develop communication skills which are vital for prosperity. In conclusion, tertiary training aids in the development of important skills and provides a community through which one can meet people, all this contributes to the prosperity of a businessman.