Some people think that social media platforms are useful for business and making new friends, while others think that such websites are harmful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of social media.

Nowadays we live in the era of social media. While social networks have its merits in many fields such as connecting people and their culture together, and also in business via making communications easier and faster or building new business online in a shorter time. On the other hand, social media has downsides such as the nonsense of spending so much time online without a certain purpose and the daily social bulling and online racism. In my opinion, I truly believe that it is the individual responsibility to differentiate between the good and the bad sides of social websites. In the beginning, social media platforms are very beneficial for business. Through new technology, business men can negotiate and finishing their deals online without a real face to face meeting, also startups or small business have found an easy way to promote about their products with small budget which fits their marketing situation. For example, if a seller wants to test a new service or product, it is very easy now to create a Facebook ad which would target the actual consumers with lower budget costs 10 dollars. Thus, the internet has become an integral part of a businessman’s life. Nevertheless, despite the merits previously mentioned, the social media platforms have its disadvantages. For a plethora of reasons, it affects mental health and self-image severely; It’s easy for posts to go viral on social media and get cruel comments or judgment from anonymous people which contains hate speech, bullying or racism. For example, the famous Egyptian actor Sherif Moneer got bullied after posting his daughters' photo on Instagram. Accordingly, it is highly recommended that social media users have to report any hate attitude they face while using these platforms. In conclusion, I believe that social media websites have changed business roles and made it easier for both multinational companies and small business. However, every person should take a good care of his presence on social media platforms.