“Prevention is better than cure” Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

Being proactive is always safer than dealing with the fallout of any particular issue. In my opinion, I agree that learning about and, the subsequent treatment of illnesses is expensive, therefore investing in precautionary procedures would be more valuable. However, there is still need for research and invention of cures, vaccines and methods. Public enlightenment on proper hygiene adherence and safety is a necessity because it serves as our first line of defence in the prevention, tackling and containment of disease outbreaks. An Illustration is the precaution to always wash hands, use nose masks and ensure social distancing to curtail the spread of Corona virus. Therefore, increased investment in public health orientation is required to ensure its sustenance and efficiency. In addition, a preventive procedure like isolation of infected persons also reduce the risk of disease contamination, thus, diminishing the need to treat a large number of sick people. Meanwhile, Preventive measures cannot guarantee the total annihilation of infections and illnesses. Even with every precautionary procedure in place, some infectious diseases still find its way into the populace and by then raises the need for a cure or treatment. As a result, research is still important and needed to cure diseases. For example, curing isolated patients already infected with any particular disease will require the expertise of researchers who are at the forefront of formulating procedures and treatments of such diseases. In conclusion, investments into preventive procedures, in addition to research are evidently necessary. However, more focus should be given to preventive procedures as such measures have shown to greatly reduce the prevalence of diseases.