Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some people think that they are the best people to talk to school students the danger of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many problems with students' behaviour today, and therefore people claim that students should be reminded of the hazard of committing crimes. While some believe that it should be carried out by rehabilitated lawbreakers, I think it takes more efforts to prevent potential juvenile delinquency. It is true that people who have been in prison and become good citizens later tend to have a better understanding of the severe consequences of violating the law and have a unique perspective of sharing the lesson with others to deter potential crimes. Their personal experience could inform students of the importance of abiding by the law effectively in a way. However, teaching students how to distinguish between the right and the wrong and how to behave well should be the main responsibility of parents and teachers. Students today are easily influenced by the poor behaviour and violent images, such as those in the mass media and on the Internet, so certain proper guidance should be offered by parents and teachers to alleviate the undesirable consequences caused by them. Especially considering the fact that the rate of juvenile delinquency has increased rapidly in many places already, we should give more attention to the development of students’ personality and morality instead of focusing on their academic performance only. In order to achieve this end, parents should help students know what is important in life, what role they will play in their world and how they are expected to behave. Teachers should teach them how to cooperate with others and how to contribute to the life of their community. In this way, students are more likely to become active and able members of the society. To conclude, the suggestion given by former prisoners could be used as an effective deterrent, but the necessity of parenting and schooling should not be negligible in the development of students.