Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

How to lower the crime rate is a major concern for the government, and opinions on how to carry out this are deeply divided. While some claim that long imprisonment is the best way to cope with the issue, I would argue that it takes more efforts than that. People who are used to the conservative way of dealing with crimes suggest that longer sentencing should be put into practice because it seems to be a tougher punishment. But, as a matter of fact, it is neither severe enough to harden or habitual criminals, nor making any difference in rehabilitation of offenders. Besides, longer imprisonment should be used carefully; otherwise, it would be a total waste of resources or an obstacle to solving the problem. Therefore, when looking for ways to handle criminals or deter potential lawbreakers, the government needs to think about the motives of most criminals and analyse why it is hard for released prisoners to readjust to a normal life. One of the principal reasons is, I believe, the lack of life chances. By that I mean, they have almost no chance of education and employment for example, so they can barely survive. Thus, dealing with the issue of how to help these people is at the core of coping with crime related problems. In this case, the government should try harder to enhance social welfare systems so as to offer basic life standards to its people and work out some solutions or build up a system to help those misguided people get back on the right track. Overall, I believe that the purpose of any punishment is not punishment itself, but to prevent potential crimes and further. Everyone deserves another chance and some help from the government to face up to life again. Education and job training would be more effective in achieving this end than longer imprisonment, at least to most of the criminals.