Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses in the local area. Others disagree and say that local authorities should allow people to build houses in the styles of their own choice. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that new houses should not be built on the pattern of old houses so that modern technologies and latest fashion can be utilized in latest construction. Others believe that new and old houses should have the same form to ensure uniformity in the development of a city. I am in accord with the former view. The world we live in is a dynamic world and latest changes in technology make it mandatory to alter the building construction. While solar rooftops and rainwater harvesting, for instance, were not needed in the 20th century, they have become a necessity in the first half of the present century. Moreover, people follow fashion in building construction and they should be allowed to fulfil their tastes and preferences. Humans prefer living in the spaces to which they can attach their emotions. For instance, the Japanese people, love living in traditional homes while the Americans live in a home with the latest technology. The preferences of these different cultures should be respected in home design. On the other hand, a diversity of designs distorts the uniformity of landscape in a city. Uniformity of houses is aesthetically appealing for everyone. For example, cities like Chandigarh allow the same style for every house and this has become the heritage of the city. More importantly, this helps governments serve the people better. A uniform layout helps fire-fighting services to douse the fire easily since they have an idea of each home’s design. Also, this prevents people from designing homes that are not environmentally sustainable. All homes are constructed to meet government’s architectural requirements for reducing the electricity requirement and water recycling. In conclusion, though building homes in the same style enables uniformity, it makes a city’s landscape bland and uninteresting. I believe every homeowner should be allowed to build a home to suit his tastes and preferences so that all family members can enjoy their abode. Forcing them to construct a government pattern will be equivalent to living in a forced enclosure.