In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays in every corner of the world, customers can purchase any universal brand of food products from the local market. While some people might have some concerns, I believe the positive effects outweigh the negative ones. In our rapidly growing population world where famine is threatening many parts, food accessibility is essential. It means that many people around the globe live based on the food which comes from other countries, without which they could barely survive. For instance, many poor countries especially in Africa and war-worn lands survive on food products belonging to nations worldwide. Moreover, many states may suffer from disasters like drought or floods so they are dependent on imported products from other parts of the universe. As global warming and its consequences become a more serious issue, food immunity is becoming a daunting challenge. As result, countries’ dependency on the global food market is become bigger. There are many agricultural products which are important for the chains but cultivating them is not economically cost-beneficial in some countries. This means that instead of spending enormous money and resources to grow them in some land, governments could import them at much lower prices. For example, rice cultivation in areas with water tensions is not logically appropriate and can be detrimental to the environment. Furthermore, some lands are impotent to grow some specific nutrients which are crucial for people’s health so they have to buy them from the global market. In conclusion, although some individuals may have some health concerns about imported food products, this mindset must be refuted and it needs to be pinpointed again that this development could solve global issues like famine and food immunity.