In some offices, employees work in enclosed workstations or cubicles. Other offices have a more open design, in which there are no walls separating employees from their coworkers. Which type of arrangement do you think is most effective? Explain, giving reasons to support your answer.

When it comes to designing your office you can choose between open place or closed place and it changes from one business to another. One result more effective than the other depending on what organization we are working so as I will soon explain. Firstly, in an open job layout you can have a collaborative, social and energetic environment. These kind of places is believed to encourage better communication and teamwork, for instance creative companies like Google have it. Moreover, when it comes to financial aspects, it is by far cheaper and practical compared to a closed one. However, some disadvantages are that there is too much noise, people have different personalities and beliefs and as a result, it turns out that sharing this kind of prison-like room for job for eight hours a day might end in misunderstandings and conflicts. Secondly, a closed service, on the contrary, all employees has their own individual working area so you can get privacy. Thus the distraction is minimum, this allows workers to keep working better and developing quality results, as an example of closed work companies are medical or the attorney ones. Also, there is a clear hierarchy which means the higher the position in the company, the better the offices they work in. Although, this can be an incentive, it is costly and hard to supervise all employees. I believe the best solution is to create a station that has open and closed spaces. In addition, this can better help workers find the perfect environment for performance and get a perfect mix between productivity and collaboration.