Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest the money in public, services instead. To that extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people believe that governments should not invest in the field of arts, such as music and theatre, and instead they should spend their money in providing public services. I agree with this statement and will discuss it in the following paragraphs. First of all, food and shelter are the basic requirements of the general public. For this, the they need jobs and investing in building statues would not give them bread and butter. For instance, the Statue of Unity in India costed around 20,000 Crore, which is a complete waste of taxpayers' money. Although, it provided employment to plethora of workers for a short period of time, this money should be spent on constructing hospitals and schools. Moreover, this would satisfy the people that their hard-earned incomes are not spending on the worthless buildings, but returning to them in a better way. Besides this, developing countries like India are in a dire need of basic infrastructure and not expensive statues and monuments. In other words, better healthcare and education system is a requirement of a time, and there is no doubt that this would help in the development of a nation. For example, countries such as Norway and Sweden spend a wise percentage of their GDP on improving their health and education infrastructure due to which they have now become wealthy and developed nations. In conclusion, it can be fairly said that public services are all time necessities of people; therefore, there should be an ample amount of investments in these sectors, However, arts sector should not be completely ignored as those who are employed in this sector would be affected by this.