Euthanasia, or mercy killing, has been in the news more and more recently. Many people are strongly against such a practice, but there is a growing demand to have it legalized. How far do you agree with euthanasia being legal?

Nowadays, a lot of articles had been written by the media regarding to mercy killing and it has now become a hot topic of discussion. Even though several people are against such a horrific method, there are few people who believe that euthanasia should be made legal. And I have to completely disagree with the given Idea since I find it to be an area where a lot of ethical issues exist. First and foremost, there is a strong chance of misuse of this method. Euthanasia is something that is should be carried out if a person is in a critical place due to a severe disease and no other methods can be used to help them to bring back to normal life. For instance, a person is severely burned is in a critical condition and no pain relievers or any other medications are found to be effective. But, in case of legalisation, it becomes a common practice among medical practitioners and any patient can be subjected to such practice for alternative motives without proper reasons. Secondly, in most cases the consent to perform euthanasia is not provided by the patients, usually, it's done by family members or relatives. This brings up a serious issue regarding whether or not it's something that the patient preferred. For example, in cases of dispute over inheritance from a seriously ill member of the family, relatives may acquire an illegal document that gives consents to carry out mercy killing. In conclusion, only a small percentage of people support such ideas since, there are a lot of ethical issues with euthanasia of a person. And I strongly recommend a need to first sort out such problems before the legalisation of mercy killing.