Technologies like AI and Robotics are automating many human jobs and helping to maximize company profits. However, this may result in a new wave of mass unemployment and government should step in to regulate these fields. Discuss arguments for both sides and give your opinion.

Technology across the globe has made life convenient for all the humans by automating day to day monotonous tasks, and therefore, help increase productivity of an individual and an organization as well. However, this leads to major reason for the unemployment of people world-wide and thus, raise a concern among society. This essay will discuss both the sides of the coins before arriving at a logical conclusion. To begin with, advancement in technologies such as Artificial Intelligence and Robotics has increased the productivity for companies, and therefore, maximize the profits. Artificial Intelligence in use in areas like collecting Consumers spending data and pattern, which is used by e-commerce website, such as Amazon and Flipkart to showcase the products, which are more meaningful. As a result, it increases the profitability got these e-commerce giants. Robotics can be seen in areas in which task is monotonous. For example, Robotics is used in an Amazon warehouse for arranging and shifting of large produces from one place to another. On the flip side, all these advancements, however, also results in mass unemployment, and therefore, has affected the lives of many people. Artificial intelligence is used by many car makers to automate it completely, and therefore, succumb the employment of many car drivers. Robots are used in agriculture for numerous tasks which results in standardisation of crops, such as for planting seeds and harvesting. This not only affects the bread and butter of farmers, but also results in production of food, which is, not nutritious for health. Therefore, Government should create stringent laws for the use technologies use to certain areas only. For example, AI and robotics, should be used in a war like situations, replacing pilots and soldiers and thereby saving many human lives. To conclude, although, without a shadow of doubts development in technology helps maximize profits of companies, however, this has resulted in mass unemployment. Therefore, I am personally of the opinion, that the Government should bring in strict laws for the use of technology only in certain areas like wars, which helps in saving many soldiers’ lives.