Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes argued that zoos ought to be closed because of a brutal attitude to animals, there are those who believed that they are the best places to protect different species. In my opinion, the cruelty that animals suffer from outweighs any benefits zoos can provide, and that they should be shut down. Those who argue that zoos have to be eliminated base their opinion on the fact that animals suffer from living in artificial environments. In other words, people rarely realize that animals are not meant to be kept in cages, and their pain can often be seen by the way they behave. Despite care and protection, endangered species can not follow their instincts. As a result, wild animals and their offspring start suffering from mental diseases, such as stress and depression. According to WWF, 60 per cent of animals’ young generation has psychological problems and cannot adapt to the natural environment after zoos. Admittedly, there is some likelihood that zoos can protect many endangered species that are under threat. Not only do special personnel look after these animals, but they also provide a balanced diet. By being protected, species can breed and expand their population. If it were not for zoos, the large number of unique species would vanish from the Earth. For example, having carried out an analysis, scientists have revealed that animals such as the Amur tiger, big panda and koala were saved due to being kept in zoos. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I am firmly convinced that zoos should be closed down owing to their cruelty. In addition, endangered species can be protected in other more appropriate places, such as national parks.