Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school, some people believe that this has negative development while others think there are some benefits. Discuss both view and give your opinion

There exists a tendency that people in modern life are taking increasingly longer time to work or school. While some people assert that this trend is of rather an advantage, some believe that there is a lot more detrimental consequences. These both sides of the statement will be discussed as follows before drawing my reasoned conclusion. In the first place, prolonged commuting time could be favourable in some aspects. Firstly, it might curb the time people waste on doing such passive and useless things such as surfing the Facebook or reading unnecessary online articles. This is the chief contributing factor leading to a sedentary lifestyle nowadays, especially among adolescents and working adults. Secondly, with a longer time spent on roads, people could probably be familiar and well-aware of the traffic hazards that potentially happen on an average day. This could surprisingly create personal habits that help individuals avoid accidents, stay safe and tackle dangerous situations when travelling on roads. On the other hand, I concur with the idea that this newly existed trend could be seen as several adverse outcomes. In terms of working productivity, people could be less productive due to the anger and tiredness they get from being stuck in a traffic jam or the continuous honking sound. In other words, their mentality is negatively affected due to prolonged exposure being on the roads. From the perspective of environmental issues, extended travel time to work or school might exacerbate the current pollution severity, especially air pollution, via the operations of their means of transport. To be more exact, vehicles tend to emit a large amount of exhaust fumes, which is the major culprit leading to the alarming level of global warming. In conclusion, I am in favour of the fact that growing time spent on commuting would probably be of more drawbacks than advantages for the reasons illustrated above.