In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Nowadays, people have a tendency to go to large shopping centres which are based on the outskirts, therefore, many small stores in the central city are on the verge of bankruptcy. Although the large out-of-town shopping malls can have several drawbacks, I believe that the merits of this are more influential than the shortcomings. On the one hand, there are some negative effects of out-of-town stores including environmental and economic problems. The first problem is that it could cause a significant damage to the economy of any city. If people no longer go shopping in the central shops, these shops are threatened with closure. As a result, the huge number of workers might lose their occupations. Additionally, Increasing bankruptcies among small town-centre shops are in an unfortunate situation that puts the local in great inconvenience, which leads those who are not in possession of a private car standing on the most affects. Therefore, Rising in car usage for demanding of travelling long distances could cause the serious environmental problems such as contaminated atmosphere and polluted water source because of the emission of vehicles. On the other hand, the large shops which are out of town can bring some positive impacts to both local people and the city centre. Firstly, out-of-town stores can create more career for the local of the outskirts. Thus, The local people might improve their lives because they have better income from working in the shopping mall. For example, in the past, some out-of-town areas of Hanoi such as Ha Dong used to have a poor condition, but now, thanks to some new large mega malls established, these people have better occupations to upgrade the value of life. Secondly, this change in people’s shopping habit and preference could lead them to move to out-of- city areas to live. As a matter of fact, many metropolises, especially Hanoi in Vietnam have been dealing with the considerably increasing number of population. If people move their houses to the outskirts, it would help to reduce the pressure on not only housing systems but also the traffic congestion. In conclusion, although the trend of shopping in larger stores located far away from the central city can have several negative effects, I would agree that the favourable aspects of this trend outweigh the adverse ones because these stores help to solve some problems in the modern cities.