Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

There is no doubt that universities play an important role in educating society. However, while some people do believe that educational institutions should geared exclusively towards subjects that may be of practical use in the future, I would agree with those who argue that one’s choices of degrees should lie with them. Firstly, it is vital that universities should equip our workforce with scientists, engineer, and other professionals that enable our society to progress. This is because a country without such experts is a country without the means to plan, create, maintain essential features of modern life. For instance, if we did not have engineers, we would not enjoy such public transport facilities and infrastructure as subways, trams, and bridges. The argument goes that if students are allowed to choose what they want to study, then there will be a shortage of these important workers. However, I believe allowing students to opt for what they want to study is the only way to acquire motivated, passionate, and thus competent professionals. The reason for this is this that free choice with a sense of autonomy, and research has shown that autonomy is a necessary catalyst for drive and enthusiasm. This results in students having the impetus to master their subject rather than merely aim for good enough. Conversely, if educational institutions force students into one category of study, then the drive for mastery that would have come with pursuing their passion will disappear. In conclusion, although it is of critical importance that universities continue to supply society the professionals in the fields of technology and science, I feel that should be the student’s choice to do so on the basis that will give them more motivation to excel in their work.