Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In recent decades, the world population has surged dramatically and caused multiple widespread issues. This essay will discuss some negative outcomes of this phenomenon and then introduce some potential solutions to prevent or reduce these effects. First of all, it should be said that overpopulation is one of the main contributors to many environmental problems. Studies show that human activity which release greenhouse gases, can speed up climate change and global warming. For example, industrial factories and carbon fuel based transportation are two main drivers of air pollution and increasing temperature in overcrowded cities. Thus, the most significant challenge the current overpopulated world is facing is "environmental issues". On the other hand, there are some potential solutions to control the population rate and its negative effects on the nature and the whole planet. The first and most obvious way is better sex education to help people learn more about birth control methods, as well as providing them suitable contraceptives. Furthermore, every citizen, as a contributor to this worrying situation, should play an effective role in global improvement. Reducing individual carbon footprint through using sustainable transportation modes such as e-vehicles and bicycle and also taking less flight, and efficient energy usage with the help of smart applications, are just some of the few principles that every person can follow in order to reduce its negative impacts on the environment and behave in a more greener way. In conclusion, the first major outcome of overpopulation is related to the environment in the long-term, and although it seems too late to tackle these problems, both governments and individuals can take some efficient steps to control the following disruptive results of overcrowding.