Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

Nowadays, more and more students decide to leave their own country in order to enrol in a different school or university located in another province. This new trend has certainly several perks, but some drawbacks as well. First of all, concerning the advantages, living far from the loved ones can be very challenging and therefore can help students to grow up personally and to learn how to be independent without relying on their parents. Additionally, in my opinion, studying in a foreign country is the best way to get involved in a new reality and consequently to learn about a new culture, about a new language and to meet other students who have a totally different background from yours. According to my own experience, when I was enrolled in a midwifery university course in Italy, I have been given a beautiful opportunity to do a training experience in a maternity ward in Finland and only at the end of this internship I realized how useful this experience was for my future and how much confidence I managed to gain. Moreover, I believe that the foreign countries involved can benefit from these students, because schools and university courses can learn about their knowledges and about what they have previously learnt in their own countries. Last but not least, foreign students may permanently leave their hometown in order work abroad and this aspect is something that all the countries involved have to take into consideration as one of the most important benefits. On the other hand, studying abroad can be very expensive and therefore very demanding for some families who cannot afford to economically maintain their sons and daughters in a foreign country and additionally, it can be distracting for some students who are not really focused on studying. Finally, I believe that one of the most important disadvantages is that more and more students decide to move to other countries in order to establish there and to start with a new life, resulting in a lack of graduate and postgraduate students in their own countries which can lead to serious economic consequences. To sum up, studying abroad is certainly one of the best experiences that a student can undertake during his/her studying path, and taking everything into consideration, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, but on the other hand there are also some important drawbacks that always need to be taken into account.