Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Teenagers’ lives may appear much easier as compared to those of the past, especially because of the several innovations that have certainly contributed to improve the general lifestyle, let’s think about the improvements that have been made in the technological field, means of transport and general education. However, nowadays teenagers have to face several issues and situations that were less or not present at all in the past. For example, a crucial role is played by media and social networking sites. In other words, during present days teenagers are being influenced by public people and by their peers and they constantly try to keep up with the latest trend in order not to be judged by other individuals. In my opinion, being always criticized by the way a person looks and being always in competition with the others can lead to severe mental stress and can induce teenagers to assume drugs or alcohol. According to my knowledge several teenagers are dying every day around the world because of heavy drugs that they are assuming in order to reduce these burdens. Additionally, I also believe that during present days, teenagers’ daily lives are often much busier than in the past. For instance, they must study for prolonged hours and they are often enrolled in other activities such as sport and musics. This may lead to a lack of spare time with important consequences on their mental health. Furthermore, in my opinion, teenagers during current days are often under stress because they often want to show to their parents that they are better than the other peers. To sum up, I personally agree with the statement above mentioned, because even if the lives of the young ones are often less complicated than in the past under certain aspects, nowadays teenagers need often to fight against critics, judgments and unwanted comments that can overwhelm them.