More people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

In contemporary years, the number of overweight people is drastically increasing and have become a major concern in so many countries. This tendency can be attributed to a host of factors and there are several viable solutions to tackle the problem. I believe the responsible factors for this problem is the inactive lifestyle and poor diet. First, the sedentary lifestyle is to blame most. People tend to be less physically active since more and more people have to work behind a desk for consecutive hours, which means they have less time to do exercise to burn exceeded calories. Second, people are likely to have unhealthy diets because of its convenience. For instance, fast food, one of the most consumed food since it's quite easy to buy and take less time for delivery and preparation, is the best choice for hectic people. Taking American, for example, of knowing the drawback of this kind of food, they still consume a large amount of fast-food every year. To tackle these problems, the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and schools to educate people about the danger of obesity. An awareness campaign coupled with a principle physically and mentally education program could shed some light in this difficult situation and allow people to be more knowledgeable about it. For example, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a significant decrease in the number of overweight Japanese. In conclusion, obesity is a major issue that can seriously affect peoples' lives. However, it can be addressed by educating people about the dangers of being overweight.