More and more people are moving away from an agricultural background to relocate to cities in order to look for work. What will be the consequences of this? What solutions can you offer?

Farmers are shifting to urban regions of the country for better work and life, leaving their villages and farmlands. While this trend poses both rural and urban problems, I think the government can take important steps to control the migration. The movement of people from the village to developed areas will not only reduce farm production, but also make the nation more prone to food shortage. As they moved from agricultural land to the cities, there would be a lower number of effective workers in this field. Therefore, lack in the workforce might damage the quality and the quantity of agricultural produce, since the fewer the workers, the lower the ability to control these aspects of farming since it is not yet to be automated. On the other hand, increased consumption of vegetables, meat, and dairy would require the authorities to import goods from different parts of the world to maintain food supply in the country. There are a few measures that can be implemented to control this problem. Firstly, the market price of crops should be increased and regulated fairly. Crops and other goods are unable to yield good profit after tax because of price volatility, and the unpredictability of several aspects, for example, the market and extreme environmental conditions, makes selling those an arduous task. Secondly, governments should finance automated farming procedures and models. This would create more job opportunities in the automated marketing and reduce the ability of crops and livestock to be exposed to extreme weather conditions. In conclusion, I believe that this trend can heavily damage agriculture, and therefore the government should invest in the automated sector to offer employment ability and reduce the risk of the agriculture sector.