Nowadays, some emloyers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, people who have graduated from prestigious universities with high academic degrees are more preferable by recruiters seeking for new novices. In my opinion, this has both positive and negative impacts on society. On the one hand, formal qualifications are the obvious evidence to assert themselves to recruiters. First of all, in many professions – For instance, a teacher teaching a foreign language, he or she must primarily qualify for the job by achieving feats such as passing IELTS exams with flying colours or other certificates relevant to their field. Secondly, in jurisprudence, to become an attorney or a judge, students must acquire some compulsory certificates before applying for any relative position. All of this means that in an academic or a philosophical environment, in particular, a large scope of theoretical knowledge with formal academic qualifications is more predominant compared to hands-on experience. On the other hand, some careers have a priority for practical skills. Set bartender as an example, a bartender only needs the skill of mixing drinks for customers while other university degrees are not compelled. Moreover, if applying for the bartender position with years of experience, the applicants will have a very attractive salary. In addition, manual workers, particularly, in Vietnam, they do not need to acquire many qualifications which are implicitly superfluous, their experience is more of an importance to the recruiters. But in order to get promoted to a higher position, people with formal qualifications are more likely to be taken into consideration. In conclusion, people acquiring formal qualifications might not be the most ultimate option for the recruiters. But so as to broaden career prospects and get a better wage, formal qualifications are needed.