Many people believe that social media sites such as Facebook have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

These days social networking sites, such as Facebook, are widely being used in the world. Some people argue it has a positive impact on individuals and society, however, some people think vice versa. In my view, I totally agree that social media has bad influences on people and as well as on communities. To begin with, suffering social media websites, such as Facebook, fascinate individuals and engage them constantly, as a result, people end up spending excess time on these platforms. In early 2000s, people used to have enough time to manage their personal and professional life. However, in this day and age individuals hardly get time for that as everyone is busy using social media accounts. According to recent research, 80% of people access Facebook in office working hours for at least one hour a day. Moreover, mankind is less concerned about their mental health nowadays as they are concerned about social media. For example, according to the recent statement in the New York Times newspaper, reported by the World Health Organization, mental health cases have increased sharply since the launch of Facebook in America. On the other hand, humankind uses social media accounts to connect with friends, anonymous friends, relatives and professional colleagues, and post all the activities they are going through on these accounts. However, there is no guarantee that the information you uploaded on the Facebook or other social media accounts is secure. It is believed that they sell our personal information to marketing companies. In addition, there is no control on these platforms as everyone can upload any information, correct or incorrect, and mislead mankind or society. Such as, a fake news uploaded in Facebook regarding any religion can welcome lots of troubles in the world as this is a very sensitive topic. In conclusion, social media is totally wastage of time and could be misleading. Individuals and society should only use these accounts to convey an important message or news. Also, the security of your personal data is necessary and should not be compromised by others.