Some people believe that technology always improves the lives of workers. Other people believe that it results in disadvantages for workers. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In the last few decades, technological innovations have drastically changed the way we live our lives and work. Though we may agree that technology has changed the way we work, for better, there are others who would argue that there are more drawbacks than advantages. Let look at both the pros and cons of technological advances on our work-life before I provide my opinion. To begin with, automation and computing have ensured that factory have increased their efficiency and employees work more streamlined with minimum chances of error. For example, the introduction of CNC computers made usage of machines highly precise. Also, as the internet and email system gained popularity, the official communication medium became very efficient, fast and robust. Thus, ensuring the workplace becomes highly organised with superior efficiency. On the other hand, technology has overtaken a lot of manual and communication jobs, which were earlier carried out by human personals. And with the advent of Artificial Intelligence, a lot of jobs are on their way to become obsolete. For instance, Uber has communicated that by 2025, the majority of its cabs will be self-driven. As well as, with the use of mobile phones and laptops, our lives have become over occupied with official tasks eating into family time of many individuals. Therefore, automation and digitization have not been so fruitful for some stakeholders in a workplace. In conclusion, although the contributions of technology towards a highly efficient and organised workplace benefiting its employees cannot be overstated, there are obviously people who were at a disadvantage due to computerization and advancement in automation. I opine that the advantages of technological innovation clearly outweigh the drawbacks we face.