Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable school time having sports lessons as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

It goes without saying that students who have many academic achievements should be rewarded. However, many think that we should also praise those who have made strides in their studies. On the one hand, there are obvious reasons why schools give reward to pupils with good academic performances. Simply, those with good academic results deserve praise and rewards. With high achievers in the spotlight, students who are gifted in certain subjects will be given more opportunities to nurture their talents. Additionally, this can set an example for other students. As a result, students who have average or bad grades consider the highest achievers as role-models to emulate. Such rewarding system also creates a competitive learning environment which motivates students to work harder and aim for higher goals. On the other hand, rewarding students who endeavour to study and make good improvements is essential. These students have put a lot of effort into their study and their hard work should be encouraged. This approach gives everybody an equal chance to earn rewards, instead of just focusing on straight A students. Most of the students are only average and their best might never be nearly as good as the toppers’. Consequently, giving a rewards base on who has the highest scores can discourage others from trying harder. By contrast, students who are recognized for making significant progress during semesters will feel more motivated. As a result, if we adopt this method, pupils will feel less disappointed when competing with their top classmates, and less stress while facing exams. In conclusion, each of these approaches has their own merits, but just doing both at the same time is not completely reasonable. As such, I think schools need to create a fair, rewarding system that has a bit of both sides.