In most countries disabled people are not catered adequately, e.g. buildings are often inappropriately designed. Governments rely heavily on charities and voluntary organizations to provide assistance and funding. To what extent do you support this measure?

Nowadays, the standard of living has been improved over the past decade, which helps people live more and more comfortable as well as convenience. However, there’s still unbelievable truth in many countries, the lacking in convenience facilities for handicapped people. Perhaps governments do not pay enough attention to this problem, they tend to put too much faith in charities and voluntary organizations. Therefore, it is considered by many that extra approaches are available and needed to be taken into action by the government. First of all, enhance medical advancements is a great measure to deal with this issue. Prosthetics such as arms or legs can be developed by using 3D printing technology and used widely for disabled patients. The result is spectacular, the fake parts can help them to move easily whenever they want and it also brings a great opportunity for them in getting back to the society by erasing the gap between the paralysed and healthy individuals. Secondly, to meet the requirements of disabled people, public transport system should be improved. For example, some buses specially designed for the disabled person. These buses can take handicapped people from home to anywhere they need to go. Besides, the transporters should be trained to assist the aforesaid persons. Moreover, the welfare for restricted people in using public transport is also a good idea to help them as well. Besides, the financial demands of disabled people should also be catered by governments. A most handicapped person cannot earn sufficient income for themselves. In my point of view, governments should arrange disability pensions for all of them and exempt them from any kind of taxes. In conclusion, as has been discussed above, all foregoing points have justified the idea that while alternative methods are available, we cannot rely wholly on charity and voluntary work.