Walking is known to be beneficial and yet, fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

Health is regarded as the priciest treasure and hence people should strive hard to maintain it. Multiple methods can be utilized to stay fit and healthy, and exercise is one of them. There are various ways of working out such as swimming, playing games, cycling, running and walking. Walking is known to be one of the best forms of exercises, however, very less people walk these days. The biggest benefit of walking is that it is self-paced and can be done at any time and place and by all the people irrespective of their age. A recent article in The Times of India, country’s local newspaper, highlighted the huge benefits of walking. According to the writer, walking improves concentration, digestion, eyesight, blood circulation as well as aids in enhancing bone density of people suffering from osteoarthritis. Apart from this, walking reduces chronic deceases such as high blood pressure and sugar up to 60% at the initial stage. Despite so many benefits of walking, people do not prefer to walk due to various possible reasons. The first reason is their busy schedule and they want to relax in front of the TV after work. Secondly, most of the people are not aware of the benefits of walking. Next, people use their car to go to nearby places instead of walking. The last possible cause is that walking is not fashionable these days, so youngsters choose to go to the gym to sweat out To encourage more and more people to walk regularly, many efforts can be made. For example, hoardings and advertisements can be put up for publicizing the benefits of walking. Additionally, roads can be constructed with special walking paths and beautified with plants and shrubs for the pedestrians. Besides all these, 'Walkathons', in line with Marathons, can be arranged and regular walkers should be rewarded with gift vouchers. To sum up, it can be said that walking is beneficial for the people of all age groups to maintain their health. It is the easiest form of exercise, yet, it may help in avoiding many health issues. Hence, regular walking habit should be adopted by one and all.