Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Playing sports is a very important part of growing up children’s lives. Schools and parents lay special attention to sports for the overall development of the students. Furthermore, involving in physical activities not only help children in being active, but also teaches them to be social and responsible individuals who can face any challenges in the future and encounter the real world problems when they grow up. Some people are of the view that participating in sports teach competitive spirit, whereas, some others believe that it teaches how to work in cooperation. I reckon that children should be taught the balance of both the virtues for the overall development of their personality How to work in a team is a valuable lesson that children should learn at an early age because there are various benefits involved with it. From a tender age when children learn to work in harmony and wait for their turns, they learn to cooperate with others. This makes them more patient as well as empathetic towards the needs of others. While playing with their mates, children grasp the habit of working collaboratively to nurture their social skills. Additionally, there are several psychological benefits of developing team spirit among the children. They learn how to develop leadership skills, accept responsibilities as well as cooperate at various levels. For instance, many people are involved in big projects these days such as constructing skyscrapers and metro routes, therefore, it is a requisite for people to work in teams at different levels. Competitive nature, on the other hand, prepares children do their best and stand out in the crowd. Competitions pose challenges and facing them bravely makes children bold also prepares them to take risks. It will help them in the future when they take crucial decisions about career and life. In other words, they are prepared to face failures with courage and accept challenges with open arms. For example, the world is becoming a global village and hence, young people are required to work and compete with people from different countries and hence, the competitive spirit helps them to do things uniquely. In conclusion, teaching children a blend of cooperation and healthy competition aids in their healthy upbringing as well as creating their all round personality.