Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Tourism is one of the highest revenue generating sectors for many nations around the world. People now, prefer visiting remote places such as the deserts, the canyons and the snow covered mountains, where the human existence is difficult. There are many pros and cons of the trend, which are discussed in this essay. There are many upsides of visiting hostile places. Firstly, these destinations provides a chance for an individual to explore the real, untouched beauty of nature, which can be exhilarating. To cite an example, a large number of mountaineers climb dangerous peaks, in search of the excitement and adrenaline rush. Additionally, the travellers get a glimpse of exotic landscapes and can spend some time in the lap of the wilderness. Similar experiences often help a person realize their true strengths and weaknesses. For instance, living in the desert requires many skills such as adaptation, patience and resourcefulness. Hence, when one takes a trip to the dry -lands, he/she will realize how patient, adaptable as well as resourceful he/she is! Moreover, they can provide a human being with an insight into their soul, which can guide them to comprehend their real needs and renounce their material possessions. On the other hand, these trips have serious drawbacks too. As, the living conditions are quite tough, many tourists might not be able to adjust, thereby falling severely ill. Furthermore, some might die during these journeys. For example, many visitors have died, while trying to climb the Mt. Everest. Also, some might get seriously injured and lose mobility for the rest of their life. An example of this, is the incident that took place in Shimla in 2005, where 20 people died and others were wounded badly, during the activity of river rafting. Hence, it is clear that a person can die in an effort to gain some excitement. To conclude, touring remote places, fulfils the thirst of thrill and acquaints a person with his skills. However, he should keep in mind that, these places are dangerous and can take their lives.