A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

There is no doubt that the tourist industry poses a significant impact on a nation's economy, and there are numerous countries in the world which rely mainly on tourism activities. However, it is essential to manage it correctly, otherwise it can give rise to various problems. This essay shall discuss the advantages and disadvantages of travelling. One of the main benefits of tourism is that it generates incomes for several sectors like transport, hotels and restaurants and provides employment to the local people such as tourist guides and shopkeepers. For instance, millions of tourists came to visit Goa each year and contribute significantly to its net annual income. Secondly, excursions lead to new experiences and a chance to know about the different cultures in the world. If no one visits these places, how would we ever know about the remote areas and the life of their natives? On the other hand, increased travelling activities lead to pollution as most of the visitors are not reluctant to throw rubbish and litter in their surroundings. Moreover, the owners of local restaurants and hotels are so ignorant that they do not care about the waste coming out of these places. To illustrate, according to a recent report, the increased inflow of tourists in Ladakh generates nearly 10-15 tonnes of trash per day due to which it has converted into a huge litter pile. In conclusion, although the contaminated environment is a pitfall associated with the growing tourism, its advantages are more, and hence outweigh its disadvantages. I believe that governments should take appropriate actions to overcome this problem and reap maximum benefits out of the tourist industry.