Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last two decades technology has experienced extremely rapid development and it has become an important part of our daily routine. To give an example, nowadays most people use the alarm of their phones to wake up in the morning, the old alarms have become unused. However, this aspect has its negative aspects. The daily use of the internet has contributed to the trend of monitoring people. For instance, websites use instruments, called cookies, to collect information about their users, like what they like or their interests. This information is used to create personalized advertising for the users. For example, if someone wants to buy a specific pair of shoes and searches for them online, it is very likely that just a few days after that, he will see on his social network an advertisement for a website that sells those shoes. As far as I’m concerned having personalized advertisements is not a completely bad thing. Sometimes, for example, I do not know where to buy something, so it is useful for me to have something that helps me. On the other hand, the moral aspect has to be considered. It is not known which type of information websites collect and who has access to it. Another issue is that modern criminals want to steal this information in order to sell it. In conclusion, I believe that being monitored has some useful advantages but, on the contrary, the disadvantages surely outweigh them.