Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more beneficial both environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Exporting and consuming the imported food has become a global trend. While staple trade is a profitable business, some people argues that consuming local food is more beneficial for environment and economy. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of both versions of the argument and will present my view of the latter. Some people believe that relying on imported feed will help to address the demand for supply of commodities. While it is true that importing saves a lot of time, thus easing the entire supply chain mechanism, there are high chances of risk prone to health. Foods are often perishable goods and to improve the life of the meal, exporters use a variety of preservatives while packaging the food. These foods, when consumed, will have a wide range of impact on the digestive system of the consumers in the long run. This practice may be suitable for some countries with geographical disadvantages where they may not have enough land to cultivate and produce their own food. For example, Singapore has a very limited scope for farming and hence this country completely relies on its neighbouring countries for supply of food. In contrast, I would argue that consuming local cuisine has a great range of benefits. First and foremost, locally produced foodstuff is available at a very affordable price and they are often nutritious as it doesn’t take much time to reach the consumers. Also, consuming the local food will generate a demand for supply and this will help uplift the related industries like agriculture, farming, local food trade businesses. If food is produced in abundance, it can be monetized by exporting to other countries. In a nutshell, after taking all the above points into consideration, I firmly believe that consuming local meal has a clear edge over importing and the advantages outweigh the disadvantages at scale.