Nowadays a lot of information about medical conditions and illnesses is freely available on the internet. Is this a good thing or a bad thing for most people? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Generally speaking, information is now available online for all users and can be reached within fractions of a second with a simple click. Although having the latter is of high benefit, yet I am in favour of physician consultation. Below is a brief of two reasons behind my position. The first and most important reason is that years of study and experience can't be summarized by a google search. This is because articles can be written by unknown doctors or worst by nurses who are not eligible to do this. Publications can also be outdated. For example, I once googled the following: "At what temperature should I give Panadol to my child". The answer was 37.8 while our doctor advised 38.3 degrees. Moreover, an article published on "Health Magazine" last month stated that 20% of ER admission cases are due to wrong information found online. In opposition to this first argument, another point of view claims that people can utilize this online search because they aren't being able to afford emergency admissions or expert visits. Also, having an emergency after 12 am and not being able to obtain any assistance is very critical especially when reaching the hospital seems impossible. For instance, I had once a very strong stomach ache and I was not sure of the medicine dosage to be taken. Referring to the internet, I acknowledged that two tabs are sufficient for this common case events that provide the generative force that is the origin of something cause. In addition to this, a statistic made by Hotel Dieu hospital shows that 44% of people can't afford to pay for a clinic visit and thus refer to online researches to get a cure or a prescription. In conclusion, the information found through google can be beneficial sometimes, yet it can be very harmful when it comes to serious cases that should be treated in clinics or emergency rooms. Despite this, I still prefer to visit the expert.