The number of people who are overweight or obese is far higher than in previous generation. What are the reasons for this, and How this problem be tackled?

These days, there is a massive increase in the number of people who are suffering from obesity in comparison to previous generations. In this essay, I will discuss two main problems associated with this and put forward some practical remedies. One of the main causes of the problem is that the current generation tends to use advanced technology in daily life. In other words, People used to walk and ride horses among cities, but nowadays people are using personal automobiles and travelling by aeroplane. It is an accomplished fact that this sedentary lifestyle leads to obesity. The solution is for the government to encourage people to do exercise regularly by spending far more budget on sports infrastructures. In addition, another issue is that people are consuming a high-fat diet and starchy foods. What I mean by this is that modern cookery programs usually teach cooking rice and fried potato for families, whereas previous mothers were accustomed to using fruits and vegetables in meals. To tackle this issue, TV programs and cookery magazine should encourage people to consume low calorie foods and increase an awareness of the demerits of obesity among the societies. Fortunately, an excellent case which has accomplished is that famous actors are participating in cookery programs on TV to create a culture of using nutritious food. In conclusion, obesity is the result of a lacking of attention to the exercise and eating a fatty food. I feel that the best way to solve this issue is that governments should provide more sporting facilities and mass media should highlight the disadvantages of fatty foods.