Houses are essential for people. Some people think that government should offer free houses for people who cannot afford to pay for it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

With the economic development, the price of the housing market has increased for a long period of time so that people cannot buy it. There is a suggestion that government pays for houses for them. Although someone disapprove of this, it's still a good option to deal with the problem. The primary reason is that a house is one of the necessary means of subsistence. However, some people argue that poor people can rent houses or get loans from banks for a living, but both of the solutions have weakness rather than an alternative option. Renting a house reduce poor people's disposable income and the rest of income are not enough to their necessary subsistence. Another alternative method is also flawed. This is because interest of bank will add up to cost of paying bank. Only poor people save money at the expense of lowering the living standard can they pay their debts on time. The high price of the housing market and low revenue for poor people are two main reasons why houses are expensive for some people. Nevertheless, they are not justifiable to some extent. On one hand, the company who builds houses is a profit-driven institution in the contemporary society. As a result, profit will promote the house price. On the other hand, shareholders and employers may exploit workers in order to maximize profit. Many workers who get an unfair pay belong to the group who are struggling for purchasing a house. Therefore, government who represents the interests of the majority should invest in poor people as some kind of compensations. In conclusion, renting a house or mortgages cannot become a substitute for free house funded by government. Moreover, many poor people should not be treated fairly. Therefore, government plays a major role in spending money in buying houses for lower - income groups.