Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, travellers instead of local residents often visit museums and historical areas. There are some underlying reasons for this, and some feasible solutions would be analysed to address the problem in the essay below. This issue might be attributable to two main reasons. To begin with, science museums and historical places are usually poorly conserved or refurbished due to a low budget for operations, the locals are often too familiar with these areas. For example, there has been no appearance of new historical weapons and war relics for many years in the Air Defence museum in Hanoi, and thus there is nothing new for local inhabitants to discover. Furthermore, entrance tickets at some historical sites are expensive for the local people to afford. For instance, most residents in Dien Bien, a province in northwestern Vietnam, are struggling to make ends meet, let alone to spend money on visiting some famous historical attractions there. Some practical solutions are suggested to mitigate the problem. Firstly, the local authorities should allocate financial resources for maintaining and refreshing the exhibits regularly in museums and historical places. In the War Remnants Museum in Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam, historical pictures and newspapers about the Vietnam War are monthly updated, resulting in more local people being interested in these documentaries. Secondly, the local authorities should allow local residents to visit museums and historical areas for free on certain days of a year. Without worrying about additional expenditures, these individuals will pay more visits to historical sites in order to broaden their knowledge about their hometowns. In conclusion, I have presented several factors as well as tried to put forward some plausible measures to mitigate the problem in the above-mentioned arguments.