Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

There is no country in the world which is untouched by the phenomenon of the skyscrapers in cities. Some cities prefer to build buildings on more extensive areas of the land due to the overcrowd and security reasons. I firmly believe that tall building is the best option for the growing population in major cities. On the one hand, many people like to live in horizontal cities because of the effects of overcrowding on sanitation, safety and traffic conditions in vertical cities. They argue that tall buildings do not offer much security in any emergencies like earthquake and fire attack. To give an ideal example, in the UK, in 2017, many people lost their lives in the Grenfell Tower fire attack. At that time, the fire and rescue service faced many difficulties with evacuating people from that tower building. On the other hand, the popularity of superstructure buildings is ever increasing in many cities. Recent studies indicate that it is only likely to accentuate in the coming decades considering the ground realities of the modern world. Firstly, high-rise buildings help to enhance the beauty of a city. The most modern and unique buildings attract visitors and tourists to that city. For example, in Dubai, a large number of people from various places visit one of the tall buildings in the world Bug Haifa in order to experience its beauty and majestic look. Secondly, tall buildings can accommodate a large number of population in cosmopolitan cities. As a result, the government can control overcrowd issues in big cities. In addition, if there are enough huge buildings in a city, the authorities can use the free space to build useful public services such as recreational centres, hospitals and educational institutions. To conclude, while it can be argued that too much emphasis is placed on the buildings in the wider areas of the city, my own opinion is that high-rise buildings always offer much benefit to the public.