Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether students making progress in their studies or those with the highest marks should be rewarded continue to be controversial and baffles many pedagogical experts these days. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I will now consider. On the one hand, some people feel that giving awards to students who have the best academic performance would keep them studying hard and motivate them to acquire more and more knowledge. In addition, it might also be said that this would hopefully deter these genious and talented students from taking up different pointless and sometimes even detrimental pursuits, for example, playing video games and watching pornographic videos, because receiving prizes, such as a certain sum of money, smartphone or any other valuable and useful item can give more pleasure than the ecstasy they tend to derive from carrying out these activities. By contrast, those who support the other view, state that rewarding students making academic improvements would cause them to progress in their learning even more. They point to the evidence from certain states of the US, such as New York and California, where the widespread practice of this tactic during the past several years has led to a higher scholastic achievement among students. Furthermore, proponents of giving material incentives to students progressing in the educational environment contend that this would augment their interest in learning. They say that because of wanting to get a prize, these students would invest more time and effort into their studies, which is likely to gradually increase their fascination for academic disciplines. Overall, I feel that it is more important to reward students proving progress rather than those who constantly achieve the highest grades because this seems to have the potential to increase their interest in learning and encourage them to make even more significant improvements.