Nowadays more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions

An increasing number of retired people searching for work have augmented the competition between the young and the elderly for employment. Although it appears that this trend brings about a number of problems, taking two straightforward actions seems to have the potential to mitigate these issues. Perhaps, the gravest problem is the difficulty for the youngsters to find a satisfactory job for themselves. This is possibly because many employers prefer to employ elderly people who tend to have vast life experience as opposed to young and usually inexperienced individuals who would probably require some training to be able to handle their work successfully. As a result, most well-paid jobs tend to be occupied by the old, which unequivocally shrinks the share for the young on the labour market and thus increases the rates of unemployment. This unemployment among young people might lead them to engage in criminal activity. Those youngsters without a stable source of income and devoid of any financial support would likely resort to committing crimes such as robbery and fraud to be able to afford the basic needs of their families and lead a full-fledged life. Consequently, not only would the rates of crime commitment grow, but also a significant decline in the quality of citizens' life would take place. So, what could be done? Firstly, it would be wise to decrease the legal retirement age. If the elderly left their jobs earlier, hopefully, more vacancies for the young would form, which would certainly alleviate the pressure of competition the young have to take. Another option could be to raise the state pension. It appears that the retired would be unlikely to forage for a job if they were satisfied with the pension they received. Overall, the problems caused bring about the growth in unemployment and lower people's standards of living. It seems that the solutions should involve the reduction of legal retirement age and the augmentation of state pension.