Mobile phones and the internet could be of great benefit to old people. However, this is the section of the population that uses such technology the least. In what ways could mobile phones and the internet be useful to old people? How could old people be encouraged to use this technology?

Undoubtedly, in the 21st century, the internet and mobile devices play a crucial role in everyone’s life. Nonetheless, the older generation is not very keen to use advanced technology because of many reasons, such as unfamiliarity with electronic gadgets, and the high price of smartphones and tablets. The internet can provide a myriad of benefits to senior citizens. This essay will discuss both advantages of the internet and the ways to motivate older adults to use technology in their day to day practice. Nowadays, every elderly individual should learn to use smartphones, and the internet as there are tons of advantages. Firstly, the easily accessible Wi-Fi on a smartphone can provide directions via applications like Google maps. Many older adults have dementia, and they quickly forget and get lost even in familiar surroundings, with the help of digital maps with voice assistance, this problem can be prevented. Secondly, older people can easily schedule their healthcare appointments and can attend them without forgetting by adding these appointments to the app, such as the Calendar. Thirdly, many smartphones and tablets provide features like online banking, groceries, and ordering cabs and taxis, so old individuals can avoid going out and do these chores without leaving their homes and standing in long lines. Therefore, it is vital to have a smartphone with every old individual. There are many ways to encourage these elderly population to use technology daily to make their lives easy and comfortable. The main reason why seniors do not like to use technology is they do not know how to use these complicated devices. To mitigate this issue, mobile companies should make devices that are elderly-friendly. For instance, they can make cellular phones with big keypads and with the local language. Also, family members of older adults should teach their senile parents in simplified ways to operate them. The government can help to encourage the use of technology by launching education programs with the help of social workers. To conclude, technology can help elderlies in many ways by making their daily life struggle free. Although mobile phones can provide many uses, every single older person cannot operate them. For this reason, the government should encourage old individuals by educating them and by lowering the prices of these devices to use technology.