In recent times more people are choosing to socialise online rather than face-to-face. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, a huge number of people are using social media accounts to connect with family members, friends, and colleagues, besides, meeting them in person. In my view, this is a negative development that could lead individuals to several issues. To begin with, an increasing number of individuals are using social media accounts like WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to communicate with their loved ones rather than meeting them face-to-face, this trend has changed just in the last few years. As a result, people rarely meet with their relatives or friends and remain isolated in a single room, which could lead individuals to depression or mental health issues. Furthermore, according to recent research, people like to connect with new friends on social media in the world, this point is very threatening especially for children. For example, there is no control over social media as one user can create unlimited accounts with fake information and connect others with false identification. This means that they chat with other users and exchange intimate conversations that could lead them to dangerous circumstances. Lastly, people use these social media accounts to exchange their feelings, thoughts, or sensitive information, in the shape of messages, photos, or videos, with friends. Moreover, in the world of technology, this critical information can be misused or compromised any time and that could lead individuals into trouble. In conclusion, individuals must meet their friends in person rather than connecting them online as consequences of these conversations can invite enormous problems in the present or future.