One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, people are living longer than ever before, due to the advance in medical technology and the discovery of new medications as well as vaccines. This trend has affected the society in both positive and negative ways, which will be analysed in this essay. On one hand, the increased life span allows people to enjoy their retirement and spend more time with their grandchildren. To illustrate it, numerous individuals today survive up to the age of 85, which gives them at least 15 years after their retirement. During this time, they can fulfil their dreams which, they were not able to follow during their active years, because of family or financial responsibilities. For instance, they can pursue their hobbies, painting, crafting or sewing freely or take up volunteering at any charity. Additionally, they can pass these leisurely years with their grandkids and can teach them the family traditions and rituals while, inculcating a deeper understanding of culture in them, by sharing their experiences with the kids. On the other hand, a greying society indicates, higher health care costs for the government. To cite an example, older people have weaker immune systems and hence, can fall ill easily. This means the authorities have to invest more money in health research as well as allocate huge part of the budget towards the retirement wellness schemes. This reduces the dollars that could have been utilized for the development of infrastructure, amenities such as roads, public transports and schools. Consecutively, all the above steps slow down the development of the nation. To conclude, the upped longevity has permitted the humans to give time to their grandchildren and to follow their passions, which they had to forgo at one stage due to their duties. However, it has also hindered the nation’s progress to a certain extent. But the advantages clearly, outweigh the disadvantages.