The popularity of news media often has been significantly influential in people's lives. Some people believe this to be a negative development. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with their opinion?

Someone who priorities to the practical value than potential one believes that taxes should be utilised for public resources which can use right away. Being aware of the conveniences of replacing the old building with the new roads or buildings, however, I strongly disagree with the argument in that a temporary and a by no means fundamental way. In the essay, I shall explain why the budget to be spent on preserving and maintaining old buildings and monuments of cities should not be curtailed. Admittedly, I partly agree the restoration cost is alarmingly high, thus it would bear a financial burden to the society. The main reason is that the aged structures had been mainly built by woods and stones, which are easily affected by weather and time, hence, they require regular repair. Nevertheless, I would like to point out two reasonable reasons why those buildings have remained in good condition. Those old buildings have not only historical values which represent the culture and heritage of that area, but also educational resources which are aimed for the future generations. In the first place, from the perspective of the politicians, those are valuable assets to restore, more specifically, if they give up to preserving those buildings, then it can be the loss of the national asset. On the flip side, when it comes to the old building preserved in good condition, it will bring various benefits to the cities since the site can be attractive places for travellers. In this regards, tourism will promote the national economy by creating new employment and revenues and the collected taxes can be used for setting up infrastructures such as electrical grids, bridges, and highway connectivities. Given that the old monument is located in a remote area, the local government will construct new roads or public transportations to connect to the central areas more directly and conveniently. Consequently, these developments will attract more travellers than before, and also the citizen who supports the policy will enjoy the advantages would bring. Admittedly, there is an exception that the buildings that are beyond repair should definitely be demolished and new structures should be built in their area. Allowing them to stay in their dilapidated state poses a serious threat to life and property. In conclusion, old structures and monuments tell us about history and time-journey. Their maintenance and preservation shall enhance the reputation of the country and create employment opportunities and revenue. Even so, buildings that cannot be restored should be destroyed.