Due to the increasing world demands for oil and gas energy, people need to look for new resources of energy in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages of locating these sources outweigh the disadvantages?

As a consequence of the growing demand for non-renewable energy, people need to make considerable effort to find other sources of energy in distant places. I believe that the benefits of this phenomenon overshadow the downsides. On the one hand, two major advantages involved in this effort. Firstly, it would provide more opportunities to seek alternative energy sources to completely replace non-renewable energy supplies such as oil and gas. Consequently, the problem of fossil fuel depletion could be enormously tackled, which in turn makes a great contribution to the prosperity of a nation. Secondly, the inhabitants in remote areas could gain a wide range of benefits of technological developments and facilities. This is because governments have to put more financial resources into upgrading and expanding the transportation system if they had a desire to make full use of these alternative supplies. Moreover, oil and gas factories established in these places would create more employment chances for local people, reducing the unemployment rate. On the other hand, several disadvantages can not be simply underestimated. To begin, an attempt to search for other sources of energy may pose a serious threat to the distant regions. To illustrate, industrial factories would discharge chemical waste into rivers or lands and therefore putting local people’s health at higher risks such as cancer or cardiovascular diseases. Besides, fossil fuel power stations built in these places might release a huge amount of toxic gas emissions into the air, which conduces to an increase in the pollution of the atmosphere. Not only can the environment surrounding these areas be severely contaminated, but the lives of thousands of people might be in danger. In conclusion, despite some demerits derived from locating new sources of energy in remote and untouched places, the pros still outweigh the cons.